85 days to go: Sluggish easy 7-kilometer run

Yesterday’s run was a challenge, not because it was difficult (the day’s training plan called for an easy 7 kilometer run) but because I didn’t feel up to it. I felt like I didn’t have a full tank of gas probably due to the interval work (4 sets of fast 12-minute runs) the day before and the less than 4 hours of sleep.

I was able to find the time to run the 7 kilometers at 9 pm. The run wasn’t a torture. It was just lifeless and wearisome. The rain should’ve alleviated the load but it had no effect. I really felt lazy and was close to quitting but just kept on. I kept it easy, heart rate just below 140, not once touching zone 3 levels, relatively short steps but fast cadence, pace around 8 minutes per kilometer. Oddly, the pace was faster than average.

It wasn’t a happy run. It was tedious and I just had to get it over with. Fortunately I played an audiobook instead of the usual music tunes. It’s a different experience listening to an audiobook while running but I guess that’s a topic for a different post.

Run stats: 7 kilometers in 56:32, average HR was 133, maximum HR was 145, average cadence was 84, raining.

Leave a Reply

