The week that passed: all easy runs

All my runs for the week were “easy runs” – that is, runs within Z2. It was a welcome respite from all the interval work that I had been doing. It has always been tough to squeeze in some quality runs during Christmas with all the parties, drinking sprees, and horrible traffic jams. This is the season of traffic deadlocks as people trek to malls for Christmas shopping. Friday (December 19) was supposed to be a “traffic armaggedon” as it was the last weekend before Christmas. Malls have been advised to close at 11 pm to spread out traffic but I think it made things worse.

 

Anyway, as I mentioned above, it's good that all I had to do was easy runs. I didn't have to do intervals. I could do the runs in the evenings and I could get a few more minutes of sleep. And since the runs were easy I could do consecutive days. Monday, for example, was when we had our office Christmas party. I had a few glasses of wine, left the venue at around 11 pm, but there was a traffic jam that kept me on the road for more than an hour. I got home at close to 1230 am – a 1 1/2 trip which normally would take me 30 minutes. Then another event made me get home around midnight. So instead of a rest-run-rest-run routine I rested on Monday and Tuesday and ran on Wednesday and Thursday.

 

Leave a Reply

